Space Shuttle trainer is open

Well, almost.  The Space Shuttle Full Fuselage Trainer (FFT) is completely assembled and ready for view at the Museum of Flight.   It’s been open for members only  this week but on Saturday, 10 November at 11:00 there will be a ceremony opening it to the general public

As a volunteer, I’ve had a couple opportunities to see it over the past week.  Today I went just to sketch it.  It is a wonderful exhibit!  If you have any interest in space, this will be a so interesting.

I got a surprise while there.  Local NBC outlet, King 5, was there to film Evening Magazine.    I’m a fan and watch it every day, though I Tivo it and must admit I fast forward through the segments in which I’m not interested.  Meeghan Black is a wonderful host.    She and a single camera operator/crew were there to feature the opening of the FFT.  She also spoke with some students from the Aviation High School.

First, my sketch.

Here are a couple images of the filming.

She’s gesturing toward the FFT and saying, “This thing is massive“.   This segment will air tomorrow (7 Nov 2012).

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

