New life

Sketch of a budding bush just outside a window.  Still chilly and rainy but it is obvious Spring is on the way.  My roses have green buds starting, too. 

It’s good to think of new life today.  Seattle has had a terrible event.  A news helicopter crashed early this morning as it took off from the helipad at KOMO TV channel 4 building.  It crashed on the street right next to Seattle Center.  The pilot and the photographer were killed.  A man in a car set afire by the crash was burned and is in critical condition.  Two other drivers escaped from their cars unharmed.  The entire News community is in shock and grief. 

The Space Needle, Experience Music Project (EMP), the Monorail and other venues at Seattle Center are all closed.  It is likely the street area and the surrounding park section will be closed for up to 5 days while NTSB investigates.

Except for taking my husband to the doctor today and doing this quick sketch, I’ve been resting my knee, still, and mostly glued to the TV awaiting further developments about the crash.  Husband doesn’t have strep throat. 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New life

  1. OMG!! I listen to KOMO news every evening! I don’t know if I can deal with watching the broadcasters tell this heart breaking story. This is all news to me! So sad. Other than that…nice sketch by u.

    • redharparts says:

      I know. I was watching King 5 and the morning news anchor, Joyce, and the traffic reporter were both in tears. They said they all have known each other for years. The Seattle news community is tight knit and people hardly ever leave.

Leave a Reply

