Spring

Not only does the calendar say spring, the weather this afternoon was very spring-like.  I had a busy day with errands and appointments, so I only managed a quick sketch of the daffodils in my own yard. Behind them are the vague hint of the helleborus.

The daffodil represents new life as it is described as the first flower of spring.  The American Cancer Society used to celebrate “Daffodil Days”, giving plants and bouquets to cancer patients and survivors as a symbol of hope.  I was involved in that when I worked in Oncology.  ACS stopped the program last year.  But I still associate daffodils with hope.

I watched and read the week 2 edition of Strathmore’s free “Back to Basics” on-line drawing course.  Much of it was review, which is OK.  There was one specific technique from which I really benefited with a refresher….. drawing ovals.   I’ve ready some very complicated mathematical explanations.  And as Stephanie Bower said in the Good Bones workshop, there is no substitute for learning by watching.  While a video is not quite as good as in person, I did find his video tutorial very helpful.

 

 

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Journal, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring

  1. Your spring daffodils are so fresh looking…I only part missing from is their fragrance

Leave a Reply

