Book Binding

Peggy H. taught a few Urban Sketchers how to make a relatively simple sketch book.  We met in the large and sunny class room at the Northgate branch of the Seattle Public Library system.  All the photos are here.

Peggy in action, demonstrating stitching the signatures together.

The group choosing decorative papers for the covers of our books

Peggy had prepared some items ahead of time, such as the book boards and end papers.  She generously shared cover papers from her extensive collection. By the end, some of us had finished books.

Mine had a simple black cover. I wanted it to look a bit like a Moleskine.

The stitching holds the strips in place which hold the book together.

The end papers are yellow on one side and red on the other. When in doubt, I choose my heraldic colors!

I like mine but it’s a little “loose”.  I understand how to improve it and plan to make another book very soon in order to set the process in memory!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Binding

  1. How fun! I love to create my own sketchbook for myself and friends

Leave a Reply

