Portland Wednesday

I didn’t do any sketches on Tuesday.  We did go to the museum for the show about Venice but no photography was allowed.  I also did not take the time to sketch.

I had breakfast Wednesday morning in the Kennedy School’s Courtyard restaurant.  From a window there, I sketched the large fireplace in the courtyard.  It was just too chilly and rainy to sketch it outside while I was there!

We had figured out during out “self-guided Grimm Tour of Portland” on Monday that they were going to film an episode at the house used for the exterior shots of the Grimm’s home.  Grimm is a TV show loosely based on Grimm’s Fairy Tales but based and set in current day Portland!  So we went over there Wednesday morning and watched for about 3 hours, in the pouring rain, while they shot a scene.    I have a lot of photos here.

During a break in the rain, I sketched the house:

For the next hour or so they filmed Nick and Juliette exiting the house, walking down the steps, getting into her car and driving away. The head of security talked to me about photographing and said I couldn’t show any photos of the actors…… at least until the episode has aired. So I will post those later (it is episode 22). And I have a pretty big spoiler that one of the crew let slip and photos I think relate to it. But I also won’t share that yet, either!  Hmmm……..

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portland Wednesday

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Sounds like fun! Although I have never heard of that TV show!

    • redharparts says:

      It was really interesting to watch how a scripted show is filmed. I been at other shows before but never a drama/scripted one. Grimm is my favorite show on TV right now. It is in it’s 3rd season and we were told by a crew member it’s been renewed for a 4th. It’s a modern setting of Grimm’s Fairy Tales, set in Portland.

  2. Margret Aldrich says:

    Hello! I’m writing a book about Little Free Libraries, to be published next spring by Coffee House Press, and would like to talk with you about your LFL sketches. Please email Margret at littlefreelibrarybook@gmail.com

    Thank you!
    Margret

Leave a Reply

