Old Georgetown

The Carleton Ave Grocery Store is one of the oldest in Seattle and one of only a few neighborhood corner stores left.  Georgetown is the oldest neighborhood in Seattle.  I’ve been by several times and it seems to be a neighborhood hub.  People stop by for a chat and sit outside on the bench when the weather is nice.  It is far more than a convenience store as it stocks nutritious food and fresh vegetables.

When the Urban Sketchers flickr group announced the weekly theme of  “The most ___ house in your neighborhood” I thought I’d go over to sketch it as I’ve been meaning to for about a year.  My neighborhood is boringly monoculture and bland, so I have to go somewhere else for interesting houses

Since there are several interesting buildings and structures in this part of Georgetown, I think we should have a sketch outing there!

Right next to it is an interesting traffic circle.  I ran out of time to sketch this today.

Just up the next block from the grocery is the Hat and Boots

Right next to that is a P patch

Across the street is “the castle:

A couple blocks over is the Rock House

All in all, a target rich environment for sketching!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Georgetown

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    I agree – let’s get over there for a sketch outing soon!

Leave a Reply

