Christopher Martin Hoff

In life, I never got a chance to meet him or his work.  At the sketch crawl yesterday, one of the artists talked about the retrospective show in the Seattle Center Fisher Pavilion today at the Bumbershoot festival.  The artist described him as an urban artist who did all his work en plein-air.   He died of a heart attack in March at the age of just 36.

I would really like to see the exhibit but I’m not feeling well today (don’t worry, yesterday’s Urban Sketchers, nothing contagious!).  Though the newspaper says the show is from 1100 to 2300, so I might feel better by evening!

I searched on his name and found these links.

Seattle Times, “Christopher Martin Hoff Remembered”

The Stranger, “Meet Christopher Martin Hoff”  This is a very poignant remembrance, a loving obituary.

His own website

If I can’t make it today, then there is a gallery exhibit scheduled.  “Fountainhead Gallery in Queen Anne, where Hoff first exhibited in Seattle, will feature his early works starting September 6″.  But I’d like to see the one at Seattle Center, as it includes later works, photographs of him at work, and his painting kit.

It isn’t even open yet as I write this.  Maybe in a few hours I’ll feel like I can make the journey.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.