New Year Tradition

Happy New Year 2013!

I lived in Southern California for 14 years prior to moving to Seattle in 2000.  It was always my New Year’s Day tradition to watch the Rose Parade on KTLA.  They had the best live coverage, uninterrupted by commercial.  Today, I recorded and watched the coverage offered by NBC.  It was awful.  They didn’t even show the entry – float and band – for Stanford, one of the teams playing in the Rose Bowl.

I never knew the Stanford band was so unconventional.  It does figure…. One of the hosts said, “Here’s what happens when you give instruments to brilliant young people”.  They almost resemble a Doo-Dah parade band.  That’s another Pasadena parade.

In order to see the entire parade, I turned to the internet.  KTLA has the parade recording on line so I could finally see the entire thing.  Here’s the sketch done while watching on my computer.

Completed on a pocket watercolor Moleskine.  Llamy Pen, water pen with ink, Pentel Ink brush pen, Daniel Smith watercolors

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

