Sketching at MoF

Today was my usual volunteer shift at the Museum of Flight.  I did 3 ink sketches in a pocket Moleskine sketchbook.

Visitors were few in the morning so I had time to stand at my post and sketch the Space Shuttle Trainer again.

After my shift, I went to the cafe for a beverage and to sit a bit after standing for 3 hours.  I sketched this family group.  This is the second time in two days I’ve done a cafe sketch, after having almost never done any!

The Museum has on display this big old Lincoln limo.  It was originally made specially for Pope Paul VI’s 1965 visit to the United Nations in New York City.  This car later served as the vehicle of choice for several ticker-tape parades honoring Apollo astronauts.  That’s the connection to the Museum.  Frank Borman, Jim Lovell, William Anders, Neil Armstrong, Michael Collins and Buzz Aldrin all rode in it during their parades.  I liked the modifications at the back that allows security officers to stand on the back.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching at MoF

  1. miatagrrl says:

    What a great variety of sketches you got during one volunteer shift! Your sketch of people in the cafe is very fresh and vivid. As you know, I spend a lot of time sketching in coffee shops, and I find I get a bit of a rush trying not to get “caught” by my “victims.” 🙂 I think it makes me sketch faster, which seems to help.

Leave a Reply

