In Dinkelsbühl

I have two sketches to show today.  The first is another miniature.  It is again a 3.5×5 inch ink and watercolor on Arches paper.  This is the last one I plan as the 4 miniatures are for a show.  It is from my own photo taken in the historic city of Dinkelsbühl in Germany.  The vantage point is just an ordinary house along the city wall.  Many people might be familiar with Rothenburg, a walled city that survived the 30 years war.  Dinkelsbühl has a similar history but is less well known and, thus, less overrun with tourists.  I actually like it better than Rothenburg.

The second sketch is one done “on location” while I waited for an appointment.  I didn’t have much time so it is just a pen sketch.

I forgot to mention that I found a source for the smallest Strathmore spiral-bound 140 lb watercolor paper Visual Journal.  I could order them on-line from Blick or other sources, but the postage would be as much as the little book cost.  I discovered I can special order from Aaron Brothers as they had it in their store catalog.  It will be delivered to the local store at no extra cost.  It’s not in their website, though.

I has also occurred to me that on days when I don’t have anything of my own to show, I will feature one of my favorite sketches from the Urban Sketchers group on flickr or the blog of one of the sketchers I follow.  There are some wonderful artists to be found there.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Studio, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Dinkelsbühl

  1. Oh, so it was the small Visual Journal you were looking for… will look forward to hearing your review of it. The paper weight sounds promising.

    • redharparts says:

      Yes. I have the medium sized one (5.5 x 8 inches). I’ve already painted in it and the paper is pretty good. It buckles and curves a little when wet but flattens as it dries.

Leave a Reply

