New home-made palette

This is a small, very thin, mint tin palette.  It is 2.75 x 3.25 inches and barely .5 inch thick when closed.  So it fits well in my tiny sketch kit with the pocket watercolor Moleskine and some water brushes.

It holds 15 Daniel Smith half pans.  Elaine  (CaptElaine on flickr ) commented on my previous one with a suggestion to use blue tack, also known as poster putty.  This is secure but less permanent than rubber cement, allowing for removal of the pans.  Here’s a photo of the making of.  I just stuck down strips of the tack and pressed the pans into it.

A piece of yupo  fitted into the lid is the mixing area.  It could also be spray painted with white enamel.   I’m going to try the yupo as it can be replaced if it gets really stained.

There are a couple options on how to use it with a sketchbook.  I could attach a bit of velcro to make it a palette on a stick.

However, my husband has just made an engineering suggestion…..  glue a magnetic strip to the ruler instead of the Velcro.  We tested it, taping on the strip, and it works well.  I like it as it does not involve putting Velcro on the palette, so I can still use it on the larger magnetic pad, as below.  (Important:  do not put magnet near any cards with a magnetic strip!).

Or it is held by a magnetic pad.  That’s not quite strong enough to hold the water bottle, with is held to a clip by a very strong magnet inside the bottle.

My motivation for this is to have a small travel palette with a good selection of paint.  It will be my alternate, in case of loss, theft or confiscation by the TSA.  I don’t want to loose my favorite palette, a half-pan palette by Pinceaux Manet.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New home-made palette

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Wow, ingenious! Let us know how it works in the field!

Leave a Reply

