Demo of something new (to me).

Cindy Briggs  and Theresa Goesling  did a demo at Seattle Daniel Smith (“the mothership”) today.  It was called “One Step to Rich Darks & Neutrals”.

As I was looking through various flickr groups/pools early this morning, I found this  by Gentian Osman.  She was playing with the new Neurtral Tint watercolor by DS.  I commented on it, she responded and it turns out she’s in Seattle and said the demo at DS would be on this new color.

Sure enough, Cindy & Theresa showed how they work with Daniel Smith’s new Neutral Tint: “when mixed with any watercolor pigment, produces glowing, darker values of that color” (from the current catalog).  There’s more on the DS website.     And DS staff indicated Gentian did the demonstration panel on the right.   The one on the left was done during this demo.

Two good things today.  I learned about Neurtral Tint, about which I had never heard before.  Second good thing was discovering Gentian’s flickr stream and blog.  I’m a fan…. she does some excellent work.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Demo of something new (to me).

  1. Paul says:

    Very interesting. Thanks for the directions to Gentian’s blog as well.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I am sorry I couldn’t make it to that demo because I’m thinking of trying a tube of that Neutral Tint… It sounds like a good solution to some of my watercolor issues.

Leave a Reply

