Blue Origin

Blue Origin  has been on my to-sketch list for several months.  I first learned about this company when the Museum of Flight installed their test vehicle, the Charon.
From the website:  it is a “9,500-pound test vehicle that used four, vertically mounted aircraft jet engines to demonstrate vertical-landing technologies. The vehicle was flown in early 2005 and provided valuable design, build, and operations experience to the Blue Origin team”

Blue Origin is a company just down the road from me in Kent, WA that is developing commercial human space transport vehicles.   There wasn’t much to see from the visitor parking lot.  I sketched the subtle colors of the main office building at the Vehicle design and assembly facility.

There was an interesting shape under wraps.  I couldn’t really get a spot to sketch it from the car.  Maybe I’ll go back when the weather is better.

Here’s the Charon in the gallery at the Museum of Flight

After that sketching session, I drove up to UW Bookstore to buy another fountain pen.  I hoped to get the Tasche FF-10T by Ohto but they didn’t have it.  I did buy another Lamy but this time the All-Star.

I almost bought two books by Danny Gregory but decided to see whether I can get them from the library (I can!  KCLS has several of his books)  as they are the sort I might only read once.  I did buy Gifts of the  Crow by a UW professor  and illustrated by a local artist.  I read their first one, “In the Company of Crows and Ravens”.  I think I might like this new one even better as it has more stories about interactions with Crows.  I never realized how very smart they are until I read In the Company of…..

While in the bookstore, I noticed they have a print-on-demand and/or self-publishing service called University Bookstore Press.

The machine was going full tilt and it was the sound that brought me over to notice this:

So that was most of my day!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Origin

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Sketching and shopping for new art materials… that’s my kind of day! I’ll look forward to seeing a sketch of the mystery shape some day.

Leave a Reply

