FF at the Museum of Flight

Ha!  Fooled ya.  It’s Friday and I have more Museum of Flight sketches.  A small group from the Seattle Urban Sketchers meets periodically on Fridays for an ad hoc sketch outing. Flickr Set for this outing is here. I’ve taken to calling us the Friday Five (FF).  We spent several hours sketching and it was agreed there is so much there that it would be worth another outing.

Three of them car pooled and were there waiting – and sketching – when I arrived.

I finally was able to scratch the Space Shuttle toilet off my to-sketch list.  A model is on display at the back of the Space Gallery.  We’ve been told “how do you go to the bathroom?” is the most frequently asked question to the astronauts.  So next to the model is a video of an astronaut explaining how it works.  TMI?

We met at 1145 to share our sketchbooks.

Me, Carleen, Tina, Peggy, Nilda

My afternoon sketch was a quick one of the Sputnik 1 replica.   I remember being a small child and going out into our west facing yard at night with my mother to watch Sputnik moving overhead.  It’s launch by the Russians set off the race to space and to the moon!

One had to leave so the rest of us had lunch, chatted, planned and then spread out for some more sketching.  We met again to share our work.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

