Stella’s demo

My first activity this morning was to go to what was supposed to be the monthly open house at the Georgetown Steam Plant.    A family was there, too.  But the place was gated shut and there was no evidence of the event in progress.

I had a backup plan.  It it was open, I would have attended the afternoon demo.  Since it was not, I drove on to the Daniel Smith mothership for a watercolor demo.

Stella Canfield provided a 1.5 hour demo on “watercolor with pizazz”!  Though hers is not a style I’d like to emulate, I always learn something from others showing how they work.  She works quickly but has planned out the painting well.  She first does a 1 minute thumbnail about 2×2 inches to work out the large shapes.  Then she does a 10-15 minute more detailed sketch to work out placement of shapes and values.  She said she makes four decisions:  1.  vertical or horizontal  2. warm or cold colors  3. shapes  4 values.  Her other paintings are in the background of these shots.

The final painting in a temp mat


Her most favorite books are Carson’s Guide to Landscape Painting by John Carson.  It’s her “go-to” book.  Of it she said, “it’s a four year art course in a book”.  Her next favorite book is Powerful Watercolor Landscapes by Catherine Gill, who is a Seattle artist!    DS had that but I didn’t buy it.

I did buy some items:  a larger travel brush; a small spritzer bottle to use as a spray bottle in my smallest sketch kit; another pack of empty half pans.  I almost bought  Cathy Johnson’s book, Artist’s Journal WorkshopHer blog, which I’ve now added to my blog roll here and to my reader.

I put a hold on the book to deliver to my local library.  While logged in, I noticed Danny Gregory’s book is ready for pick up.  The email notification on the hold system doesn’t work as I didn’t get an email.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stella’s demo

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I’ll lend you my copy of Artist’s Journal Workshop! It’s one of my favorites. Which Danny Gregory book are you waiting for? I just got notice from Amazon that his urban sketching book is on its way!

Leave a Reply

