Pharmacology & Art

Today was spent in a seminar on Geriatric Pharmacology.  Much of it was very useful but some was out of my scope of practice as I am definitely not a prescriber.  But the presenter was excellent, extraordinarily knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor.   I need to get a certain number of Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) for my license renewal.

I drew this while he was discussing something that really was over my head: the biochemestry of drug metabolism.  That’s the drawing of the slide on the right.

There is a connection to art in all this.  The presenter told us that the halos Van Gogh painted around the stars in his Starry Night might have been a visual side effect of the digitalis he was taking at the time!  Digitalis, which is from foxglove – is refined into a medication called digoxin,  used for Congestive Heart Failure (CHF) and atrial fibrillation (afib).

Pocket Moleskine sketchbook, Uni-ball vision needle pen, light watercolor washes.

12 Feb update: a friend who is a PharmD wrote to me about my blog.  She said, “Halos are a sign of digitalis toxicity!”

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

