Two More Books

I borrowed two more books at the same time as “Artist’s Journal” by Cathy Johnson. I’m still working my way through that one as it’s exactly what I wanted.  More on it when I finish it.

Cathy Johnson distinguishes between an artist’s journal and an art journal.  The latter is a book turned into a work of art itself.  An artist’s journal captures the life of the artist in art and words.   With that working definition in mind…..

One turned out to be more about art journals than artist’s journals. “Artful Journals” by Janet Takahashi gave many ideas for actually making books in different formats and then how to decorate them.

If you are interested in learning from her, she has a Spring workshop in Portland, OR!    Plus many more in California and other points West.

“The Decorated Journal: creating beautifully expressive jounal pages” by Gwen Diehn.  I’d estimate this was 70% about making art journals and 30% artist’s journals.  The most interesting and useful section for me was the illustrated guide to various ways to bind books.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two More Books

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I have a couple of Gwen Diehn’s books and love them both. I’ve learned several binding techniques from her.

Leave a Reply

