Sketch Outing at St. James

The Urban Sketchers Seattle had our monthly group sketch outing at St. James (Roman Catholic) Cathedral.  I’ve not been there before.  It was another rich environment where there were so many views to sketch.  I managed just two, both small chapels.

The staff person I stopped to ask said this was just called, “the chapel”.   I thought of my recently deceased 98y/o Aunt Mary as I sketched here.  I lit a candle for her and thought about her for a few minutes before starting.  I’d been unable to get to Michigan for the funeral last week.

This is the tiny chapel housing the tabernacle with the Blessed Sacrament.  According to the pamphlet, it was made by German artist Ulrich Henn.

There were so many people who came today.  There were also at least a half dozen new people.  One man even came over from near Bainbridge!

Sharing our sketch books

The rest of the photos from the sketch outing are in this set.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch Outing at St. James

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Nice sketches and an opportunity to think of your aunt. Looks like it was another great USK gathering… I’m bummed to have missed it.

Leave a Reply

