Birds at Trader Joe’s

I noticed these sparrows hanging out on the big TJ letters.  I first tried sketching the whole sign but the birds were really tiny.  So I took a page from Cathy Johnson’s Artists Journal Workshop (so to speak) and did a small close-up view sketch to glue on as a patch.  If I’d been thinking ahead, I’d have saved room on the page.

This sketch was also a trial of a new book.  I’ve finally filled the pocket Moleskine sketchbook.  I saw this small sketchbook on Friday at Artist and Craftsman Supply in the U District.  It is the same size as the Moleskine but more paper.  The paper also has a better texture with more tooth. It is by Global Art Materials and is the hand*book travel*e*logue series.   It says it’s for pen & ink, pencil and markers but “accepts light watercolor washes”.  It comes in more shapes, sizes and cover colors but the paper is all the same.

I found it buckles just a little with the amount of watercolor I used in this sketch.  It was certainly no more than the Moleskine sketchbook does and this paper is so much better for watercolor than the Moleskine sketchbook.

Amazon doesn’t have it nor can I find it in the online store for Artist and Craftman Supply.  Art Supply Warehouse does have it.  Cheap Joe’s also has it   for a good price.  Joe’s is the first one to report the paper weight is 34 pounds (130gsm).  It feels like it’s more than that.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Sketches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birds at Trader Joe’s

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Delightful sketch! I’ve been using the larger-size Hand Book journals as my writing journals and casual sketchbooks (sort of like an artist’s journal) for quite sometime. dickblick.com seems to have the best prices for these. I’ve also found them on Amazon.com. I like the paper a lot, too. Not as good as the Stillman & Birn I’ve come to love, but it does take a decent wash.

Leave a Reply

