Las Cruces Day 1

on 15 March

All four of us knew each other in Southern California.  My husband and I moved to Seattle in 2000.  One friend still lives there.  She flew in to join in the visit to a 4th friend who moved to Las Cruces just a bit after we moved to Seattle.  We spent several days together.  Since we’ve been a few times before, we did not do a lot of touristy things but just enjoined renewing our friendship.

While they were exploring Old Mesilla, I went to Josephina’s Old Gate Cafe.   I was familiar with it from a previous trip and knew what I wanted to sketch.  This is courtyard at the back of the cafe.  A woman came up to me to look at my sketch.  I saw her binoculars and asked whether she knew what the bird was that was calling so loudly.  Though she did not, as we talked I learned Gloria is from Bellevue, WA.  What a coincidence.  She shared that she used to paint and I gave her the info about Urban Sketchers Seattle.

As others rested, I stole a few minutes in the late afternoon to sketch from the front of our hotel.  The colors were very muted at that time of day.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

