St. Patrick’s

I’ve been gone to New Mexico a few days.  I did not upload this before I left as I made two for the friends we were visiting there.  Painted a St. Patrick’s Day card for friends.  If you are not familiar with the symbols, the colors are the Republic of Ireland flag (“the south”) and the Claddagh:

From WikipediaThe Claddagh’s distinctive design features two hands clasping a heart, and usually surmounted by a crown. The elements of this symbol are often said to correspond to the qualities of love (the heart), friendship (the hands), and loyalty (the crown)….Claddagh rings, with or without the crown (most commonly with a crown), have come to denote pride in Irish heritage, while continuing to be symbols of love or marriage.

When I was last in Ireland, I learned that the rings are used as a friendship ring, an engagement ring or a wedding ring.  It is my wedding ring.  If worn for friendship, the point of the heart is worn facing outward and not on the wedding ring finger.  If one wears one in a relationship, the point is worn facing toward one (inward, toward the body) but not necessarily on the the wedding ring finger.  Outward symbolizes “availability” and inward does not. If for engagement or as a wedding ring, the heart faces inward and is worn on the wedding ring finger.

I am of Irish heritage and in my younger days did a fair bit of study about Irish culture.  I rarely use shamrocks, preferring less obvious symbols.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

