Emerald City Trapeze Arts

The Urban Sketchers Seattle met for our March sketch outing at Trapeze Arts.  It was in interesting and challenging venue.  I did not rise to the challenge as  I did not sketch any people in motion.

I picked out the support for the net as my first sketch of the day.  I was in a rather dark corner so I had to use my iPod Touch as a flashlight for some of the painting!

It was a rather funky setting.  There were all sorts of interesting furniture, sculpture and things on the walls.  My second sketch was a set of skulls.

And here I learned a valuable lesson.  This was the first page of a sketchbook I bound myself.  Always try the paper first.  I did not.  I just trusted the advice and recommendation of an instructor that this would be a good paper to use for a watercolor travel journal.  The paint was hard to control, it feathered and it absorbed too much.  I had to put about 3 layers in the darkest areas.

I have one more sketch I started before “time” was called so we could meet and share.  Rather than go back after to finish, I will do so at home.

Here is an arrangement of mirrors on the wall of another room.  There were a lot of mirrors in that room.  A couple acrobats can be see reflected in the mirrors.

Here are some photos I took of the sketchers and the trapeze students.

Gabi C. sketching

Frank C. and Gabi. C

working large

Sharing our sketchbooks. A couple people left early.

Flying (intentionally blurred for action)

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emerald City Trapeze Arts

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Nice sketches, and your photos are fantastic! I love the action shots of the brave students.

Leave a Reply

