Sketching in the sun

Spring might finally be here.  It was bright, sunny and 60 degrees.  It was definitely a day to sketch outdoors!

While driving along Airport Way to the sketch outing yesterday, I drove past both of these locations and made a plan to return.  When I realized how nice it would be today, I decided to drive back to sketch them.

The Old Rainier Brewery has been a Seattle icon.  When it was the Rainier Brewery, it had a red neon “R” on top.  That has been moved to the Museum of Science and Industry.  The brewery closed in 1999.  Since then it has been sold a couple times and has been converted to house other businesses.  Tully’s Coffee has their headquarters and roasting site there.  So now there is a “T” on top.  The Urban Sketchers Seattle had a sketch outing there late last year but I missed it.

The next place is the City of Seattle Traffic Shops. I liked the yellow awning and the Chief Seattle graphic/logo.  I added a bit of “collage”.  Can you tell where?  See below to get the answer.

The flag is at half mast all over the State in honor of past governor, Booth Gardner.   He died last week after a long battle with Parkinson’s.  He spearheaded the campaign for physician assisted death with a law similar to Oregon’s.

(answer: I used my photo of the logo rather than painting it.)

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching in the sun

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Hey, I guessed right! Ideal use of collage in a sketch, I think. You did the flag especially well!

Leave a Reply

