Norwescon

I spent nearly all of this beautiful, Spring weekend indoors at Norwescon.  This is Washington’s largest general Science Fiction convention.  A friend from Portland came up to attend with me.  We had a good time.  There were lots of interesting panels, many people in excellent costumes and a bit of good shopping.

I also had a chance to do some sketching.  The first was during my first panel, which is the most interesting one of the convention.   It was about forensic science.  How much of what goes on in “CSI” or “Bones” is real world science and how much is science fiction.  Welllll…. as far as “Bones” goes, there’s some sci fi there.

Then on Friday I participated in two presentations about drawing the figure.  One had models for 20 minute poses and were in ordinary street dress.

She was called “Inky”, for obvious reason.

The next session brought in models in costume for 10 minute poses.

“Haith” from comic called Wayfarer’s Moon (I had no clue)

Victorian-ish Steampunk military attire (this is my kind of stuff!)

Here is an example of the costuming.  This is a family, all in costumes from the latest Dr. Who and with a robotic Dalek.  They won a prize in the costume contest/masquerade

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Norwescon

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Wow, these are great sketches! I’m not a big sci-fi fan, but I wish I could have attended just for the costumed figure drawing — what fun!

    • redharparts says:

      This is the first year I think they’ve had such offerings. I thought I would have more opportunity for random costume drawing but everyone moved around too fast!

Leave a Reply

