More palettes

I have too many palettes.  The good thing is that with one exception, I’ve made them myself, so they hardly cost anything.  I spray the inside with white enamel paint to give a good mixing area.

This one is a standard Altoid tin.  I’m fairly certain this is Cathy Johnson‘s idea but I can’t find it in her blog (her personal web sites seem to be down right now).  Add an extra bottom to make more mixing area.  I tried clipping it together to make one unit that can attach to the sketchbook.


This is a new, empty tin I got for $4.82 at the Daniel Smith mothership (Main store on 1st Ave in Seattle).  It holds 18 half pans with room for a couple brushes.  It is 7.25 x 2 inches.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More palettes

  1. Bee says:

    I love the idea of using an Altoid tin. Clever!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Which is your favorite, Kate? I’m still liking my little Trader Joe’s mint tin palette because it’s small and light enough to clip onto my sketchbook, but I wish it could hold a few more half pans… I’d be happy if it could hold 12. I might have to come up with a new solution in time for the Mt. Vernon workshop… Hmmmm.

  3. redharparts says:

    My favorite palette is this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/redharp/7839618822/in/set-72157630705134434 But if you wanted to make one that will hold 12 or 13 half pans, than an Altoid tin would do fine. Similar and costs a little less http://kremerpigments.com/shopus/index.php?cat=14&lang=ENG&product=881014 I think Cathy (Kate) Johnson likes this one and it is very thin: http://expeditionaryart.com/shop/product/pocket-palette/

    See, I collect links for palettes as well as the palettes themselves!

Leave a Reply

