Book signing & Pioneer Square

For the past several years, I’ve enjoyed reading mysteries.  One of my favorites is the Maisie Dobbs series by English author, Jacqueline Winspear.  It starts just after WWI and is now jn 1933.  Ms. Winspear  lives in N. California and was in town to sign her latest book, Leaving Everything Most Loved.

My husband was a gentleman and took me all the way to the Light Rail station instead of dropping me at the Park & Ride in the pouring rain.  This is my first sketch done on public transport.  I’m not sure how others do it as it is so crowded on the Seattle Metro system that there is hardly any room to sketch and definitely one cannot sketch without being watched.  But I figured drawing a dog would bother no one.  The poor little guy did not seem to like being on the train.  He was unsteady on his feet, his ears were back and his tail down.  And the inside of his ears really was pink.

Since my husband dropped me off on his way to work, I arrived in town quite a while before the noon event.  It was still raining, so I sheltered with some coffee at Top Pot doughnuts and did a sketch.

The weather started to improve as I wandered around some more.  I sat on a bench near a bank building and sketched this tulip sculpture across the street.  Here’s what I found in a search after I got home:  Seattle Tulip, Tom Wesselmann, 1989.  Painted steel sculpture.”

Then it was time to go to the book signing.  It was held in the tiny Seattle Mystery Bookshop just off Pioneer Square.  Ms. Winspear did not give a formal talk or read from the book. She just signed books and talked with her readers.

Afterwards I had lunch, walked around some more and took photos.  The day turned out to be warm and sunny, if windy.  My trip home via Light Rail and 2 buses was “only” 1.75 hours.  Though unplanned, I made all my connections with little waiting.  The last time I traveled home took 2.5 hours.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

