Helmet & Boots

After a 2 week absence, I was back for my volunteer shift at the Museum of Flight.  As is pretty typical, the first hour was very slow over in the Space Gallery.  So I had a chance to do the ink sketch of the items in an exhibit case.  I did the color after I got home.  This is “Pinky” Nelson‘s T-38 Helmet and Boots.    Official NASA bio   Info on the T-38

He is an astronaut who flew on 3 Shuttle missions. He has a PhD in Astronomy from UW. He left NASA in 1989 for UW and now is at Western WA.

After that I went to find the Tom Bihn  factory store in SoDo area.  Even with a Google map, it took a bit of driving around to find it.

I wanted to take a look at the Field Notebook

I only learned about it this past week but I already don’t remember from where I heard about it. It’s pricey at $80 but the reports I read are that Tom Bihn products last years, if not decades.  I tried putting in it the items from my smaller sketch kit.  I’m not $80 certain that I would like using it.  It is an excellent design, though

Coming up is a very artsy weekend:  sketch outing with friends tomorrow,  other friends’ art show reception tomorrow evening and then the World Wide Sketch Crawl day on Saturday.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helmet & Boots

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I had not heard of Tom Binh before reading your post! Oooooh, I watched the video on the field journal, and if there was a way to make a Stillman and Birn fit in there, I’d be all over it.

    • redharparts says:

      Actually, it would fit. It just might not fasten in securely. The 3 ring binder can be removed. There are little tabs that hold it in but I didn’t try fitting the edge of a sketchbook into the tabs. I took out the 3 rings section and just laid my assorted sketchbooks in and they fit.

Leave a Reply

