Nordic Museum

A small group of sketchers met at the Nordic Museum today.  I’d never been there before and I found it quite interesting.  What was the first thing we saw?  Just some architectural sketches by one of Urban Sketchers Seattle’s own Stephanie Bower!

I did two sketches.  After a quick run around the 3 floors, I choose to stay in the room with the costumes.


Woman’s Danish National Folk Costume, ca. 1920.


Sami Hats:  “Man’s Four Winds hat” with a four cornered star shape.  “Hat with Pom-pom”.  “Man’s hat with visor”.

Here’s the little sketching group:

Carleen, Tina, Peggy, Kate (that’s me)

And I took a lot of photos, too.

I stayed in the area as I had some friends’ art reception to attend in the late afternoon.  I planned to have lunch at Dick’s Drive In.   Dick’s is a Seattle icon and often voted “best burger”.  This location dates from 1960 but the earliest one opened in 1954. Despite living here for 13 years next month, this is the first time I’ve been near one!  It was quite good…. just about as good as In N’ Out!  Of course, I also did a sketch.

I still had some time so I drove around looking for something to sketch before going to the art reception.  I found the Chimes Tower in the Veterans Memorial  in the Evergreen & Washell Cemetery.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nordic Museum

  1. ahamin says:

    Loved the sketches. 🙂

  2. Beda says:

    Kate, What a surprise to hear that you had not been to a Dick’s Drive In. And, the sketches at the museum were wonderful! I had no idea they were planning on building a new space.

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks! Well, not sure if or when they are building. Steph’s drawings were dated 2008. so…… Nope, never been to Dick’s. Never even drove by one before. I noted on the Google map that it was on the way between our sketch location and the art reception, so I made a plan!

Leave a Reply

