Do you have an Advance Directive?

[soapbox]    Tomorrow, Tuesday 16 April, is National Healthcare Decisions Day (in the USA).  I feel so strongly about this subject I was inspired to create a journal page:


I’m retired now, but for 25 years I was a medical Social Worker.  For part of that time I specialized in Oncology (cancer care) and the entire time I was in direct practice one of sections in which I worked was the MICU (Medical Intensive Care Unit).  As a result, I’ve been a part of many difficult care conferences in which the doctor(s) discussed that cure was no longer likely.

What does a “good death” look like to you?  This is a very difficult subject for most people.  It is vitally important that you think about this and take action.

I’ve seen first hand how wrong it can go when people do not have an Advance Directive. I believe very strongly that every adult needs one.  In a “healthcare power of attorney” you appoint the person you select to be make your healthcare decisions if you cannot speak for yourself.   A “living will” documents what kinds of medical treatments you would or would not want at the end of life.  You can have one or both.

Here   you will find resources to answer the questions
What is an Advance Directive?
Where can I get one? (No, you don’t need an attorney)
How do I have the conversation about my end of life wishes with my loved ones?

If you have any questions, please feel free to message me.

[/soapbox]

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Studio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you have an Advance Directive?

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Kate. I believe in the importance of this too, and we talk about it a lot, but we haven’t done anything about it. We need to take action.

Leave a Reply

