Paper trial

The bakery has a large cafe area with big picnic tables.  There are a number of old cooking utensils and artifacts around the room.  The sketch shows an old electric stove.  It is next to a very over-sized chair that’s part of a set of two chairs and a table.  I’ve yet to get this set to appear as big as it is in reality.  Sigh.

Peggy H  had told a few of us about a paper sale at the Daniel Smith store. It is a 10-pack of 22×30 watercolor paper for only 19.95, which works out to about $2 a sheet. It is normally $36. That is a very good price.   It’s called Quiller paper,  made by Jack Richeson Co.  It is mould made in England.  It’s named for Stephen Quiller.   I think this is the same paper listed on Mr. Quiller’s website.  There it costs $55 for the same package.  Yikes!

I made another trip out to Black Diamond.  Before I left I tore up a sheet of the Quiller in order to try it out.  I did one sketch at the Bakery.  I think I like the paper alright.  I made a couple fairly wet washes and it buckled very little.  I didn’t have it taped down at all.   I’m not really that knowledgeable about the fine points of watercolor paper, though.

I’m not going to bind it into a book.  I still consider it a test so I don’t want to commit to a book full of it yet.  I think I’ll make a book like Lynne  made, hole punch some sheets and put them between hard covers held together by these clips.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

