Ad Hoc Sketch Outing

A few members of Urban Sketchers Seattle gathered for an ad hoc sketch outing today at Seattle Center.  Just starting today was the Cherry Blossom and Japanese Cultural Festival.  Besides the usual Seattle Center sights, there were many new things to see and sketch!  The festival was not fully underway, though.  No Taiko drumming!  I was disappointed.

I traveled in by light rail from the southern hinter land.  I got to Westlake center rather earlier than I thought the Seattle Center Armory would be open. Since it was chilly outside still, I decided to shelter at Westlake and do a sketch out the window of the buildings over the plaza.  I liked the greenery at the top of one of them.

Once at the festival, I thought I should do at least one sketch on the topic of the day.  This is a set of samurai armor posed.

I found this small rock garden next to the Armory.  A couple people stayed fairly still in close conversation.

We gathered again, as usual, to share out sketch books.

seated:  Lynn, Tina; Standing: Ken, Kate (me), Nancy,  Sue (it was her first time with USK!).  Photo by Gordon U., who also joined us for the first time but brought his camera rather than his sketchbook!

I also took some photos around the festival.  This is the Shishi-Odori Deer Dance

After that I used my membership to see the newly opened “Fantasy” exhibit at the Science Fiction Museum.  Today is the very first day and a members-only preview.  They did a really good job of the environment.

There was even a dragon!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

