Finally spring?

I hope it’s finally Spring.  We expect increasingly warm and sunny days through the weekend.  I was inspired to go to McClendon’s for some plants.  I bought ground covers, strawberries and cherry tomatoes but it’s still a little cool at night to plant the tomatoes.  It was still under 60 degrees when I went out this morning and in the 40’s overnight.

I’m continuing my series on Renton public art.  I was trying to find a sculpture that is supposed to be in the park around the library but I never did. So I sketched this from a foot bridge over the Cedar River.  I hadn’t been on it before but found a nice view of the Library.  The library sits on a bridge over the river.  From these bridges over the river, one can watch salmon spawning during the season.

Next I sketched a fountain with a bust of Chief Seattle. It was cast in 1909 and presented to the town by the Renton Volunteer Fire Department on July 4th, 1910.  This bust is one of 4 studies made for the final bust used on the full-body statue of the Chief located in downtown Seattle.  The studies were made from an 1864 photo of the Chief plus other First Nations models.   It sits near the fire department in front of a memorial to Renton’s logging history.  I did the ink sketch on location but colored it at home.  Not sure which I like better:

This sculpture is out on Maple Valley Highway near Carco Theater.  “Emerging” was created by Hai Ying Wu for Renton’s Centennial in 2001.  The plaque reads, “It consists of two major elements:  the cranes represent the people of Renton, their endurance, tenacity, and courage;  the stainless steel blocks represent the history of hardships and obstacles which the people have overcome and which have helped to make Renton into a thriving, growing and nurturing place to live”

Here are some of the lovely flowers blooming in my yard:

The bleeding heart plant is humungous, draping over the sidewalk.

The Jack-in-the-Pulpit is doing well, too:

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally spring?

  1. Tina says:

    Nice sketches with interesting background stories. Gorgeous color in your garden!

Leave a Reply

