Aviation High School

I didn’t sketch in the Museum of Flight during my volunteer shift yesterday. Afterwards I drove down the street just a bit to park across from the new Aviation High School which is still under construction.  The current school is in Des Moines but will move here, next to Boeing Field and the Museum of Flight, in the fall.  The new location was selected provide ready access to the Museum of Flight’s resources and to the approximately 200 flight-related businesses nearby.

The new facility was designed by Bassetti Architects. The design received the 2011 People’s Choice Award and Polished Apple Merit Award from the regional chapter of Council of Educational Facilities Planners International (per Wiki page).  The curved north wall is made of composite materials and is designed to resemble an aircraft.

What may be obvious from the school’s name is that it is an aviation- and aerospace-themed school.  This new building will be called the Raisbeck Aviation High School.  Though part of the Highline district, it is open to students from around the region.

The school motto is “The Sky is not the Limit”!  Their totem animal is the phoenix.  Good choices.  I especially like that moto for this school.

August 2011 Seattle Times article about the start of construction, including some images of the design.

I’m trying the Stilman & Birn Beta sketchbook again.  The hardbound one seems to curl less than the spiral one I tried before.  I also use a strap to hold it closed and flatten the pages.  I like the paper.  The Beta series is 180 pound.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

