SAM

I went in to SAM (Seattle Art Museum) to see the “Treasures of Kenwood House, London” before it ends on 19 May.  I was pleased to learn the exhibit’s audio guide was available as an app.  With the Museum’s wi-fi I downloaded both it and the regular museum audio guide.

I took about 2 hours to go through.  Much of this is not my favorite period but I did want to see the Rembrandt.

I have a bit of a motivation distraction lately so I didn’t do any sketches at the Museum or outside.  This month’s Seattle Urban Sketchers Sketch outing together will be a Pike’s Market so I didn’t want to sketch around the area, though there certainly is a plethora of subjects.  I didn’t really plan this as a sketch outing, anyway, as I brought my most minimal kit.  I also wimped out as it was unexpectedly chilly with breeze off the Sound.  Once I got home it was nearly too warm outside.

I did still do two small sketches in my pocket Moleskine.  First was on the bus to the light rail station.

The second was a woman at the next table at lunch.  Her conversation was much too easily overheard (as a friend says, “voice activated listening”) and I think I practically know her life story.

Ink drawing on location and added watercolor at home.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SAM

  1. Thank you for posting so frequently; your sketches are so motivational for me. You’ve given me the realization that any mundane subject is material for absorbing sketch. I’ve done plenty of pencil sketches and have tons of sketchbooks, but have never done ink & watercolor wash. Can you suggest suggest some materials to get started, especially curious about the kind of paper you use, (sketchbook types & brands), and the type of ink (pen types & brands) that will hold up to a watercolor wash. Do you wash on site ever, or do you save the washes for your studio, as in this post? Thank you for your suggestions and insights.

  2. Thank you for sharing your insights and experience. I can’t wait to get started. Today my art project is to print some tee shirts from my paintings for my young friends who share my passion for horses. One will become a graduation present, and one will be a “congrats- you survived your first year of college!!”

Leave a Reply

