Weekly theme is bridges

The Urban Sketchers weekly theme is bridges.  I had several sketches I’ve already contributed.  But I thought I would go out and find a local, ordinary one to add.

I was sleepy after lunch but an afternoon in the sun, sketching, perked me right up.  It was a perfectly beautiful day.  Bright blue sky, fluffy white clouds, very sunny and about 65 degrees.

I went to the Cedar River and sketched a small, ordinary bridge.  It is not at all picturesque but I wanted to illustrate the kind of bridge that is very common in small cities, such as where I live.  This one was built in 1987.  It is edged by bushes with nice, pink blossoms.  I sketched a close up and added a couple fallen petals to my page.

The river was running very high.  There was quite a storm yesterday, with thunder, lightening and heavy rain.  A section of the river walk was closed due to water over top.

I saw this charming mallard mother and ducklings.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

