Pike Market Sketch Outing

The Seattle Urban Sketchers had our regular monthly sketch outing at Pike Market, joining up with two Seattle sketchers teaching an Urban Sketchers sponsored workshop, “Line to Color”.  Find all the photos in this set

As is often the case, I was early.  Coming up out of the University Light Rail station, I walked through the Garden of Remembrance.  I liked this view of the stone sculptures and pool.  Given that it is close to Memorial Day, I decided to stop for a sketch to once again honor our war dead (I’d sketched last year at Tahoma National VA cemetary).

I arrived at our meeting location to find the workshop in progress.

After we dispersed to sketch, I had three locations in mind.  First was the northern market sign.  Here I simplified the scene, leaving out details inside the building and the tents.

Then I went down into the Market to sketch the Great Wheel from an
overlooking window.

We gathered in a park at the North end of the Market to share our sketches.  It was a larger than normal group today, even not including the workshop participants.  Gabi posed us with the view of the Great Wheel and the harbor.  Three of us are not in the photo (Gabi, me and Gordon as we were all three taking this picture).

After the sketch outing broke up, I went to have lunch.  Tina and Michael joined me at Kells.  We were looking at Michael’s sketchbook  when our server commented that she’d seen the sketchers and it made her want to get out to sketch.  I explained about Urban Sketchers and gave her our card.  Maybe there will be a new recruit at our next sketch outing!

Then I walked around the downtown shopping district.  I particularly wanted to see the new Timbuk2 store that has just opened here.

The rest of the photos are here.  First is the sketch outing and then the photos around town.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

