Sketches

Here are 3 sketches I’ve done over the past two days.  First, I sketched looking out the 3rd floor window at my health clinic.  It shows the view of part of Overlake Hospital across the street.  I sketched it before and after my appointment but colored it at home.  It was a fairly gray day with very flat light and a not very colorful scene.  The most color was in the trees.

I didn’t sketch at the Museum of Flight last week but this week I sketched the Docent meeting that occurs prior to the opening of the museum.  The likenesses are fairly good, if I do say so myself!  A bit of color added at home as I didn’t want to be so obvious during the meeting and I don’t carry the full sketch kit into the museum.  I have only the pocket Moleskine and a Lamy pen.

Yesterday I attended an event at the Museum of Flight that included an appearance by Brent Spiner (the actor who played “Data” from Star Trek, The Next Generation).  One of the attendees was wearing Google Glass and offered Mr. Spiner a chance to try it out.  This sketch is done from one of my photos taken at the event.  The event was on the local news last night and also on several websites. I show up briefly in this video, in the back on the left at timestamp :40   Also, here’s a good Q&A with Mr. Spiner, posted by Geekwire.  He stood around talking with attendees and telling stories for about a half hour.  I had nothing to add to the conversation but I enjoyed listening to his humorous tales.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketches

  1. Tina says:

    Cool! Is this your first celebrity sketch? 🙂

Leave a Reply

