Renton Farmers Market

The first Renton Farmers Market of the season was today.  Even though it was hot – almost 80 degrees – I went to sketch.  I’d long admired these brightly painted carts made for the vendors to use.  I resolved that today I would sketch them and I found a view that was almost in the shade.

The King County Library’s book mobile was also parked nearby.

I drew much more attention than I ever have!  Staff from the Farmers Market came to talk to me.  Then the volunteers started coming over.  Meri took me over to meet several of them who had been involved in the painting of these carts many years ago. They are members of the Piazza Renton Volunteers   I was told that Don Sorenson was the main volunteer behind the painting of the carts.

02

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Renton Farmers Market

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketch and fun at the market! I find I always learn something new about vendors or others when I sketch at markets. I bet you got the word out about USK!

Leave a Reply

