Workshop

I’m just home from an excellent Travel Journal workshop by Don Getz
http://watercolor-online.com/DonGetz/
http://getzwctour.blogspot.com/

I left very early Sunday morning so I would have time to explore Deception Pass State Park and do some sketching.  This was done at Bowman Bay.  Unfortunately, the part of the park under the interesting bridge was full on Sunday.  No place to park!

Here’s Don arriving on the first day in his specially painted van for the tour:

I’m not showing you my sketch from the first day of the workshop!  Don demonstrated his amazing invention (Donz Magnificent Enlargement Device) for transferring a scene to paper.  It’s a wonderful idea but I just could not get the hang of it.  Maybe it’s my bifocal glasses.

After the workshop broke up sometime after 4pm, I drove back to Deception Pass park and found a good spot from which to sketch the bridge.

There was still some time before sunset, so I sketched the iconic Coupeville Wharf back in town:

I showed both of these to Don the next morning and what you see here has benefited from his suggestions.  That morning we met in the fog of Ebey’s Landing.

After lunch together, we sat in the shade of a porch across the street from the Anchorage Inn (which happened to be where I was staying).  It was only build 22 years ago, so it’s not really Victorian.  We used a little artistic license to place Mt. Baker in view.

The next day, Judi suggested we drive a bit out of town to the Captain Whidbey Inn.  That turned out to be a really good idea and we spent the entire day there.

I only had time to draw this arbor and painted once I got home.

I’m still consolidating what I’ve learned.  Unfortunately, there were only 3 of us.  Well, not so unfortunate as we got lots of personalized advice and instruction from the Master painter!  But unfortunate that more people did not know about or avail themselves of this excellent opportunity.

Here are the 3 of us on the last day with Don.  We all got along great, had a lot of fun and learned so much.  Don had lots of interesting stories to share about his life and career in art.

Judy, Gary, Kate (me); Don Getz is seated.

The setting on Whidbey Island could not have been better.  We had nearly perfect weather.

Don emphasizes quickly and simply getting the scene on paper.  This is a journal record of a place visited.  In answer to the question of how long a sketch takes for him, “About an hour and 72 years”.  The actual drawing time combined with a lifetime of experience that enables him to draw efficiently!

I really want to go back to do more sketching at the Captain Whidbey Inn! The grounds are wonderful.

Photos of the workshop

Photos of Whidbey Island

 

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workshop

  1. Judi Nyerges says:

    You Blog post and photos are just wonderful! And so are your sketches!! I LOVE the one of the arbor!!! So glad I got to meet you. We will definitely be doing this again somewhere!!

  2. Paul Bauck says:

    It sounds like a terrific workshop. The images really capture the place. Captain Whidbey’s is a great location with so many things to paint.

    • redharparts says:

      It was really good. Some of us in Urban Sketchers are talking about having a sketchers’ retreat at the Captain Whidbey, maybe next summer. A bit too late to organize for this year.

  3. Tina says:

    All great sketches, Kate! I can already see that you benefited from the workshop. Would l love to compare notes with you when I’m back in town.

Leave a Reply

