31 July, Day 1 of Gorge trip

This is 31 July, Day #1 of a 5 day trip with a friend along the Oregon side of the Columbia River Gorge.

After dropping my husband off at SeaTac for his trip to DefCon (see my post of 5 August), I headed straight for Portland to pick up my friend, R.  We then left immediately for the east.

We got off I-84 onto the historic Highway 30 at Corbett.  I saw this charming general store and stopped for the first sketch of the trip.  If I had all the time in the world, I’d have liked to sketch the inside, which had a dozen or so mounted heads of deer, elk, and other creatures.  It had the wooden floors of the 100 year old stores in the town in which I grew up.  I had the feeling this store had been there that long.

Next stop was the Chanticleer Point view of Vista House and then Vista House itself.  It was very hazy due to fires in the area.

View from Vista Point looking east along the Columbia

We then stopped at every waterfall along the way.  The largest and most interesting was Multnomah Falls.  The lodge was beautiful as well.  This is the 2nd highest year round waterfall in the USA.  I sketched a bridge across the river with an upper foot bridge in the background.

We had a delicious dinner at the Lodge and then walked up to the falls.

All photos from this day are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

