Olympic Sculpture Park

“Friday Sketchers” had a perfect day for our Olympic Sculpture Park ad hoc sketch outing.  There were 10 of us, counting Ann and Paul who were visiting from Michigan.  Paul found the outing listed on the Seattle Urban Sketchers blog.

I impressed myself by completing 3 sketches.  I think that’s the most I’ve ever done in an outing.  Especially so because I actually like them all.  I arrived early so did a quick 15 minute sketch of the Calder Eagle from the entry point of the park.

I’d used the park’s website to look at the options and had decided I most wanted to sketch the Eye Benches.  When I found them, the scene I most wanted to sketch was closed for construction.  So I picked a different view that included the mountains, which I actually liked better.


I still had about a half hour so headed for the Eraser as that was my next favorite sketch subject.

As usual, we shared out sketches and then posed for a group photo.

Michigan Visitors, Paul and Ann, are standing on right


Some of us had packed a lunch for a picnic and others picked up something on the way.  We headed for the Belltown P Patch to eat our lunches and continue to socialize.  The Michiganders joined us.

After lunch and wandering the P Patch, I arrived home to my neighborhood at 3pm.  But the police had the main street blocked.  The officer was very helpful and informative.  Seems SWAT was working to extract burglars hiding in a home in my neighborhood!  Frances had carpooled with me so she was stuck waiting, too.  We did some shopping and then went to dinner, where we sketched the interior of Whistle Stop Ale House in Renton.

We finally got back in at 7Pm! So Frances could finally go home.

All my photos from the day are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Olympic Sculpture Park

  1. Tina says:

    Love all of your sketches! Sounds like you had a second — unwanted — adventure afterwards!

Leave a Reply

