Museum of Flight 747 #1

I took a friend to the Museum of Flight.  She took the crew compartment tour inside the Full Fuselage (Space Shuttle) trainer.  I’d been before so I did a sketch while I waited.  This is the the astronaut sculpture and mural.


While waiting for her to tour another gallery, I did a sketch on the cafe patio of the TWA Lindburgh Line aircraft on the tarmac.

Museum patrons are not normally allowed inside the 747 that is in the Air Park.  It was one of the first to fly and was never configured for passengers as it  was a test aircraft.  I learned that the 747 is open on Sundays in August.  So I got my first ever look inside.

spiral staircase to the upper lounge

 

upper lounge in it’s 70’s glory

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Museum of Flight 747 #1

  1. I like your sketch of the astronaut. He really looks like he has to walk slow with all the gear. What a fun sketch.

Leave a Reply

