More Libraries

After morning errands and starting dinner in the crock pot, I went out to sketch in the afternoon.  My plan was to find the 2 remaining Little Free Libraries.     I’d already sketched 3 of the 5 that are in my town.

While sketching the first one a neighbor came to talk to me.  She has a friend who is an artist and she thought the friend might really like Urban Sketchers.  So I gave her the card with the info.  Then the library owner came out to talk. I had a nice chat with the 2 of them while I finished painting.

The last one was close by.  While sketching, it started to rain.  I had most of it drawn so I took cover in the back of my hatch back, with the hatch open for more rain shelter.  I finished painting the color from the shelter of my car.   I like the trompe l’oeil of the books on the side and the open book on the top.  And there were lots of tomatoes growing in the front yard.

It very nearly was a “dark and stormy night”.  It was a dark and rainy afternoon.  As a result, the light was very flat.

The actually library sign on both of these is a bit of collage….I cut out that part of my photo of the library.

At both libraries I left a children’s book I got at the big sale at the Museum of Flight. It was Mousetronaut by the now-retired Astronaut, Mark Kelly (Husband of Gabbie Gifford).     It’s a “partially true story”.   I see there is a sequal soon to be released, Mousetronaut Goes to Mars.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Libraries

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Great sketches and stories, Kate! I really enjoy this Little Libraries series. Now that you’ve finished Renton, what’s next?

  2. redharparts says:

    Maybe Kent! When I looked at the website to get contact info for these libraries, it seemed there might be more than 5 in Renton, so maybe there will be more sketching locally.

Leave a Reply

