Long lost

I had 5 years of art in high school. I did that by refusing to take 4th year math & physics as a senior (I was going to be a Music major in college and figured I didn’t need it…. short sighted, but I really hated math….see below, I want to rant!).   I took a 2nd period of art.  I also have completely lost all my sketchbooks from those days.

Then I took some art during undergrad, though it was not a major or minor subject.  I had dozens of large pages from a life drawing class.  I have no idea what happened to them.

Today, I cleaned out a book shelf to make room for my sketchbooks of the past 1.5 years.  I found a yellowed copy of a poetry magazine to which I’d contributed drawings.  It was one of those feminist, self-published things done in colleges in the 1970’s.  This is the best of the group.  I surprise myself.

The date above my signature is 10-30-73.  That’s 1973, folks!  Yikes, 40 years ago!

More on my dislike of math…..   I attribute it to the fact that I missed every, single recess of 4th grade in order to stay in and do math.  I missed the math class in order to take Music and the teacher refused to have a study hall as she was instructed to do.   I have no idea why I was so stubborn but I guess I really wanted to study Music at 9 years old.  When our music teach learned of this, he made a fuss but not even the head of the school could make her change.  So much for tenure.  She ruined math for me.   However, my music teacher, with whom I studied for 9 years, influenced the person I’ve become more than any  person other than my parents.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long lost

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Wow, how cool to find this old life drawing, Kate!

Leave a Reply

