Whidbey again

I joined the Whidbey Island sketchers yesterday for their outing to Cultis Bay Nursery.  Judi was kind to offer to pick me up from the ferry so I could just walk-on, which saved a lot of time and and some money.  It was not having to wait in the line for the drive-on that was so good….the line was about a mile long as I drove past it!

I did a quick 5 minute ink sketch of the Mukilteo Lighthouse.  When the Seattle Urban Sketchers were here last month I didn’t sketch it along with nearly everyone else.  This is from the ferry before it pulled out of the dock.  I didn’t have time to color it until I got home.

Once at the nursery, I did two sketches. I focused on some details.  I thought this tricycle cart was amusing.

It got really hot in the sun.  After Thursday’s storm, I didn’t expect the heat to return so soon.  For the next sketch I sought a place in the shade.  These fish out of water appealed to me.

I have a few photos:

A few Whidbey Island sketchers.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whidbey again

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Great sketches, Kate! Whidbey is always inspiring.

Leave a Reply

