New fav

My new favorite pen for sketching is the Platinum Cool.    I bought it from my favorite pen retailer, The Goulet Pen Company   I chose the clear fine point.  It’s a little over $40, so that’s more than the Lamy Safari, which I’ve been using a lot and own 2 (plus the Lamy Al-Star).  But that price includes the cartridge converter, which is usually about $7.

What is so “cool” (ha ha) about it is that it is very slightly a flex pen.  I could never get the hang of the Ahab Flex.  Here is the pen and some example lines:

The variability of the lines makes it very useful for drawing.

I will be ever grateful to the Urban Sketcher in whose writings I first saw mention of The Goulet Pen company.  They are great.  Be sure to see Brian’s helpful tutorial videos and the interesting blog.
Fountain of Knowledge
the blog, Ink Nouveau

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New fav

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    I just got a Cool, too — in pink! But I’m not as impressed as you are, or maybe I just haven’t gotten the hang of it. I feel like I have to use a lot of pressure to get it to flex, and then I can’t draw naturally with it while I’m also pressing on it. Suggestions?

  2. redharparts says:

    I guess I don’t use the flex feature a lot, just for a couple lines of emphasis. What I use more and like a lot is the very thin lines it can make when turned upside down.

    • redharparts says:

      And since neither of us has had any success with the Ahab Flex (!), this is about the only inexpensive option for a flex pen. I was just watching Brian’s video about a pen on which I saw someone else’s comment. It also flexes, but it’s $150!

Leave a Reply

