More Renton Sketches

Though it was a cloudy day with flat light, it did not rain.  Twice during my long sketch outing it felt like it might. I went out in two sessions, going home for lunch in between.

In the morning, I sketched the purple trimmed antique store.  I’ve had my eye on it for a while but had decided it would be best in early morning.  But guess what managed to parallel park to block my view?   A great, big, ladder fire truck! Actually, parking that great big truck was impressive.  The three firefighters walked down the street to the cupcake bakery.  They soon left, though, so I could finish the sketch.

St. Charles Place antique store on Wells Ave.


After lunch, I attempted to sketch the bottles hanging in front of the Red House tapas restaurant.  But a big ole SUV pulled up and blocked my view.  I took the path of least resistance and left to walk to the piazza.

Instead, I sketched the clock tower in the center of town, across the street from the Piazza.  While there, two young people stopped to chat at different times.  Both seemed interested in Urban Sketchers and I gave them the card.  I might meet up with the young woman to go to Sunday afternoon’s sketch outing at Pike Market.

By then it was nearly mid-afternoon so I figured the lunch rush was over at Red House.  I walked back to the Red House and sat in the same spot to finish my sketch, just before someone parked in front of me again!

At first, I thought the arbor was grapes.  But it’s hops!  I doubt it’s enough to brew their own beer, but maybe that have more somewhere else.

Good thing I got so much sketching in.  Rain, even thunderstorms, are predicted for tomorrow.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Renton Sketches

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Great sketches and a great sketch adventure in your own ‘hood! It’s hard dodging all those annoying parked vehicles, isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

