New palettes

I put together two new palettes today. I used half-pans I got at the Daniel Smith mothership (HQ store) in Seattle.  On right is one made from a empty metal pencil box purchased at Daniel Smith & at Dick Blick.   On the further right is the same one, closed.

At left is a large, folding palette from Cheap Joe’s.  I took the frame out of it in order to get more pans into it.

I used the Scotch reusable double-stick tabs to stick the pans in place.  They can be removed but the tape holds them quite well.  For the large palette, I used the tape to hold down a base of yupo to cover the bumps in the pan.  Then I used two strips across which I placed the half pans.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New palettes

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Wow! Are you really going to fill the one on the left with 32+ colors??

    • redharparts says:

      No, at least not yet. My standard palette has 26. I’ve put about 28 in this one and ended the last row with 3 full pans into which I put 2 colors I used most and a small sponge.

Leave a Reply

