Pioneer Square and more

Posting today about my doings yesterday.  As the day wore on, what has felt like a sinus infection got worse so I took some medication and went to be early last night.  Today I’m a bit better so am editing the images and writing this post.

In both sketches done yesterday I took on complex archetectural subjects I would not have attempted a year ago.  Though not completely accurate, I was satisfied with both of them.

I rode in to work with my husband yesterday and then took a short bus ride to the closest light rail station and then on into Seattle down town.

I stopped first at the International District/Chinatown in order to go to one of the shops and to sketch there.  I also decided to sketch the Chinatown Gate.  This is a 5×7 in my Pentalic Aqua sketch book.  While drawing, I met a nice family visiting from Vancouver, BC.  Jerry said he’d done a lot of art in school, once exhibiting 86 paintings.  Wow, I’m not sure I’ve done that many in my life!

Next I went to Pioneer Square and the Mystery Bookshop.  This was the reason I went in to town yesterday.  JA Jance was signing her latest book, Second Watch.  As a subplot, she included the story of Doug Davis, “a schoolmate of hers and a brilliant young man from Bisbee, Arizona, who died in Vietnam weeks before his 23rd birthday.  You will also meet as a character, Bonnie Abney, the girl who was engaged to marry Doug at the time of his death.”

Bonnie Abney & Judith Jance; new JP Beaumont mystery, Second Watch; Ms. Abney is a character in the subplot of the book which also involves a schoolmate of Ms Jance’s who died in Vietnam weeks before his 23rd birthday to whom Ms. Abney was engaged.

After some time spent there, I went to the square to sketch the well known Pioneer Square pagoda, built in 1909.  Sketched 8×10 in a Moleskine watercolor portfolio book.

While there, I heard some loud booms and a man ran by shouting that a car was on fire.  I looked around the corner, up James Street, and saw flames climbing to the second story!  It had exploded!  I thought that only happened in movies.  Since emergency responders were there, I didn’t see any point to rushing up there and returned to my sketch.

Afterwards I did stop once the fire was out and the clean up had started.  Several cars were involved.  It turned out no one was injured.  A large truck reportedly lost brakes and hit the cars.  They were parked, so no one was in them.  Here is the TV news coverage

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pioneer Square and more

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Excellent sketches, Kate — the Pergola it’s very challenging, and I have yet to take it on. You sure had a big day! You should have sketched that exploding car — it would’ve been great reportage sketching! 🙂

  2. Forrest says:

    Your sketches are fantastic! I particularly like how you omitted all the crack heads. 😉

  3. redharparts says:

    Thanks to both of you for your comments. Thanks, Forrest, for the compliment! Yeah, I was approached a couple times for money by the homeless.

Leave a Reply

