Sketching the Puyallap

“Do the Puyallap”.  That’s the slogan for the newly named “Washington State Fair” in Puyallap, WA.  It used to be just the Puyallap Fair.  Seattle and Tacoma Urban Sketchers met at the fair for an ad hoc sketch outing.  I was there too early so I had time to do a sketch of the gate, since I couldn’t get in yet.

I think I set a new personal record for numbers of sketches in 2.5 hours.  I walked straight across the fair grounds to the animal barns.  I did a warm up sketch of a kid on a spool. These little goats were laying on mats on top of big spools.

I spent most of my time with the draft horses and did two sketches.  Someone later commented during our sharing of sketches that there were a lot of animal butts sketched today.  I must have drawn hundreds of horse sketches when I was a kid.  I think I have motor memory for equine confirmation!  These are Belgian draft horses.

This is a Clydesdale, the same breed of draft horse used in the Budweiser hitch.

and vacuuming?  It’s a mellow horse to tolerate that.

Next I went to see the buns.  These rabbits with their over-long ears were amazing.  I would think they’d trip on them.

The sketchers met up, as usual, to share our sketch books….

One of the better features of the Puyallap Fair are the Fisher’s Fair Scones.  These are the best scones.  I had one between sketches and then bought a few to bring home.

I also memorialized them with a still life.  And then I ate one.  Yum.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching the Puyallap

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    You had a prolific day at the fair! Great sketches!

Leave a Reply

